President Jonathan appoints new Service, Security Chiefs

Nigerians Abroad news magazinePress Release: President Goodluck Jonathan has approved the appointment of new Service and Security Chiefs in the country.

A statement signed by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr Ima Niboro, on Wednesday, September 8, said the new Chiefs are:

Air Marshal Oluseyi Petinrin – Chief of Defence Staff

Major General O.A. Ihejirika – Chief of Army Staff

Rear Admiral O.S. Ibrahim – Chief of Naval Staff

Air Vice Marshal M.D. Umar – Chief of Air Staff

Mr Uba Ringim – Acting Inspector General of Police

Mr Ita Effiong – Director General, State Security Service

The statement explained that the tenure of the former Service Chiefs expired in August 2010.

The new appointment of the new Service Chiefs will be approved by the Senate while the National Police Council will endorse the appointment of Mr Ringim as Inspector General of Police.

All appointments take immediate effect.


Media and Publicity,

Presidency, Federal Republic of Nigeria


One thought on “President Jonathan appoints new Service, Security Chiefs

  1. Kayode

    Dat is very good.everybody in d service will now sit upright and work harder 4 our own country on goodluck

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *