Group photo of ministers and President Buhari

List of Nigeria’s executive Ministers and Permanent Secretaries

Ahead of the swearing-in of Nigeria’s executive ministers on November 11, President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed new Permanent Secretaries to oversea the country’s government services. The appointment of some new top bureaucrats and and the redeployment of others according to an insider, was strategic to the President’s plan of repositioning the national civil service to adhere to new standards.

Each minister-designate will be allow to invite two guests to the swearing-in ceremony inside the Executive Council Chambers. The event will be livestream by the Nigerian Television Authority starting from 9:30 am local time. Nigerians abroad are encourage to watch the livestream.

At the swearing-in ceremony, President Buhari urges the new ministers to live up to the expectations of Nigerians.

“Since we assumed office in May, I have been mindful of the need that the appointment of new ministers translate in putting round pegs in round holes while showing sensitivity to our diversity and our people,” said Buhari.

“While working hard to maximize the revenue from oil, we are determined to diversify the economy in agriculture to enhance employment and exploit solid minerals as major revenue earners. The primary aim is to achieve self sufficiency in the production of staples [produce] like rice and wheat.”

The 36 mininisters are: Aisha Alhassan (Taraba - recently pronounced Governor elect of Taraba by the election tribunal); Udoma Udo Udoma (Akwa Ibom); Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti); Audu Ogbeh (Benue); Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi); Osagie Ehanire (Edo); Abdulrahman Dambazau (Kano); Lai Mohammed (Kwara); Amina Mohammed (Gombe); Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa); Ibrahim Jibril (Nasarawa); Babatunde Fashola (Lagos); Ibe Kachikwu (Delta); Abubakar Malami (Kebbi); Chris Ngige (Anambra); Solomon Dalung (Plateau); Kemi Adeosun (Ogun); Hadi Sirika (Katsina); Adebayo Shittu (Oyo); Khadija Bukar Ibrahim (Yobe); Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers); James Ocholi (Kogi); Baba Mustapha (Borno); Claudius Daramola (Ondo); Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa); Usani Uguru (Cross River); Dan Ali (Zamfara); Zainab Shamshuna Ahmed (Kaduna); Geoffrey Onyeama (Enugu); Abubakar Buari (Niger); Isaac Adewole (Osun); Aisha Abubakar (Sokoto); Mohammed Bello (Adamawa); Adamu Adamu (Bauchi); Anthony Anwuka (Imo); and Okechukwu Enelamah (Abia).

The list of Ministries below will be updated with appropriate names of Ministers upon confirmation.

Ministry Minister Permanent Secretary  
Agric & Rural Development Audu Ogbe

Heineken Lokpobiri (State)

Dr. Shehu Ahmad
Aviation Hadi Sirika (State) Hajia Binta Adamu
Communication Adebayo Shittu Arch Sunday Echono
Transportation Rotimi Amaechi Alh. Sabiu Zakari
Information & Culture Lai Muhammed Mrs. Ayotunde Adesugba
Defence Dan Ali Amb. Danjuma Sheni
Education Adamu Adamu

Anthony Anwuka (State)

Dr. Shade Yemi-Esan 
Budget & National Planning Udoma Udo Udoma

Zainab Shamshuna Ahmed (State)

Mrs. Fatima Mede
Finance Kemi Adeosun Alh. Mahmoud Isa Dutse
Foreign Affairs Geoffrey Onyeama

Khadija Bukar Ibrahim (State)

Amb. Bulus Lolo
Health Isaac Adewole

Osagie Ehanire (State)

Dr. Amina Shamaki
Industry, Trade & Investment Okechukwu Enelamah

Aisha Abubakar (State)

Mr. Aliyu Bisalla
Internal Affairs Abdulrahman Dambazau Mr. Bassey Akpanyung
Justice Abubakar Malami Mr. Taiwo Abidogun
Science & Technology Ogbonnaya Onu Dr. Habiba Lawal 
Labour & Employment Chris Ngige

James Ocholi (State)

Dr. Clement Illoh 
Petroleum Resources Ibe Kachikwu (State) Dr. Jamila Shu’ara
Women Affairs Aisha Alhassan Mrs. Binta Bello
Federal Capital Territory Muhammed Bello Dr. Babatope Ajakaiye
Water Resources Suleiman Adamu Mrs. Rabi Jimeta
Environment Amina Mohammed

Ibrahim Jibril (State)

Dr. Bukar Hassan
Niger Delta Affairs Usani Uguru

Claudius Daramola (State)

Mrs. Wakama B. Asifieka 
Solid Minerals Kayode Fayemi

Abubakar Buari (State)

Mr. Istifanus Fuktur 
Youth & Sports Solomon Dalung Mr. Christian Ohaa 
Works & Housing Babatunde Fashola

Baba Mustapha (State)

Engr. A.G. Magaji 
Power (Electricity) Babatunde Fashola

Baba Mustapha  (State)

Mr. Louis Edozien 
State House  N/A Mr. Jalal Arabi
General Services Office, OSGF  N/A Mr. Mohammed Bukar
Ecological Fund Office, OSGF  N/A Mr. Abbas Mohammed
Council Secretariat  N/A Dr. Ugo Roy
Special Services Office, OSGF  N/A Mr. Aminu Nabegu
Political Affairs Office, OSGF  N/A Amb. Bamgbose Akindele 
Economic Affairs Office, OSGF  N/A Mr. Alo Williams Nwankwo
Special Duties Office, OSGF  N/A Mrs. Obiageli Nwokedi
Career Management Office, OHCSF  N/A Mr. Innocent Ogbonnaya
Common Services Office, OHCSF  N/A Mr. S.K.Y. Adelakun 
Service Policy & Strategies Office, OHCSF  N/A Mrs. N. Batagarawa


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *