2015 Lagos Election Score Card

INEC declares Ambode Lagos governor elect

The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate Akinwunmi Ambode has been declared Lagos State governor elect. At the INEC head office in Lagos, the commission’s Returning Officer Prof. Isaac Adewole,  announced that Ambode received  811,994 votes to beat the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Jimi Agbaje who secured 659,788 votes.

“I declare that Akinwumi Ambode of APC, with a total vote of 811, 294, having satisfied the requirement of the law and securing 25 per cent of votes in all the local governments and scoring the highest votes is hereby declared the winner,” said Prof. Adewale.

Before the announcement of the formal result by INEC, Agbaje called the governor elect to congratulate him on his victory.

Ambode’s victory ensures that Lagos remains a stronghold of the APC, reaffirms the popularity of the party’s acclaimed national leader Bola Tinubu and aligns the state with the new national government for the first time since 1999.

Although, election over the weekend saw low turnout of voters, Lagosians praised local politicians for encouraging their supports to shun violence. Meanwhile local election observers have condemned wide spread election violence in a number of southern states, including Enugu, Rivers, and Akwa Ibom.

See complete list of elected states governors  below:

Abia Okezie Ikpeazu PDP
Adamawa Jibrilla Bindow APC
Akwa Ibom Udom Emmanuel PDP
Bauchi M.D Abubakar  APC
Benue Samuel Ortom APC
Borno Kashim Shettima APC
Cross River Benedict Ayade PDP
Delta Ifeanyi Okowa PDP
Ebonyi Dave Umahi PDP
Enugu Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi PDP
Jigawa Badaru Abubakar APC
Imo Rochas Okorocha APC
Kaduna Malam Nasir El-rufai APC
Kano Abduallahi Umar Ganduje APC
Katsina Aminu Bello Masari APC
Kebbi Atiku Bugudi APC
Kwara Ahmed Abdulfatai APC
Lagos Akinwunmi Ambode APC
Nasarawa Umaru Tanko Almakura APC
Niger Abubakar Sani Bello APC
Plateau Simon Lalong APC
Sokoto Aminu Tambuwal APC
Ogun Ibikunle Amosun APC
Oyo Abiola Ajumobi APC
Rivers Nyesom Wike PDP
Taraba Darius Ishaku PDP
Gombe Ibrahim Dankwambo PDP
Yobe Ibrahim Geidam APC
Zamfara Abdul-Azeez Abubakar  APC


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *